wide-eyed at 4am

Surgery Assigned: June 16

Leave a comment

My surgery required the two surgeons’ schedules by synced up with an operating room. Good luck with this happening quickly. Of course, the three days that this took seemed like three weeks. But finally on Tuesday, June 16, the surgery date and time of July 9, 10am was assigned to me. This is the day my life will change – again. I’m thankful that it is scheduled and incredibly relieved that I have something to aim for. July 9 is a day that can’t get here fast enough for me. Besides the things that I want to get done before being limited to left arm movement again, I really would prefer to just drop everything and go in immediately. I, however, realize that the world doesn’t revolve around me, so I’m OK with the wait until July 9. It really isn’t that long. In fact, if I were less anxious, it would fly by. You know what they say about the watched pot.

Side note. My surgeon’s scheduler actually asked me if the surgery date was OK with me. I replied that “of course it is.” I asked if people actually turn down surgery dates. I couldn’t imagine saying, “Gee, that doesn’t work for me. Could we do the next Wednesday at 2?” What? No. I had kept my calendar clear and would have changed whatever I had to in order to comply with their best day and time. Actually the ONLY appointment I had made for late June and early July was my next cut and color. I was afraid I would schedule over the date they assigned for my surgery. Coincidentally the cut and color was in conflict. Go figure. Obviously, the cut and color will be done later.

So now the big reveal begins! But only after I talked to Dennis about it. He was on the golf course for his weekly Tuesday golf game. I wanted him to know first. Revealing this predicament to others would soon begin.

Of course, as OCD as I am, there was a plan for the reveal.  There was an order to this that I was determined I was going to follow. Of course, Dennis already knows that I’m a control freak. Now the control freak had lost control of a lot. But I wasn’t losing control of this. He was just going to have to roll with me on it. And it worked….sort of. I didn’t get to tell everyone face-to-face as I had wanted. But I did manage at least phone calls….no texting about cancer diagnoses….

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

