wide-eyed at 4am

Definition of Awkward

Leave a comment

One thing is for sure. I’m becoming very accustomed to having my breast examined from every angle in every way and by everyone. And since Dennis has accompanied me to all of my appointments, he has watched more breast exams than I’m sure he ever thought he would.

That is to be expected with my predicament. One experience was really quite humorous in an awkward so of way.

My pre-opp appointment with my plastic surgeon went fine. He’s fantastic. He has a very easy-going and gentle way which is a little disarming because he’s very handsome.

The purpose of the pre-opp appointment – which I didn’t realize ahead of time – was to take pictures of the before versions of my breasts. Not for posterity but for the doctor’s use in reconstruction, matching up left to right, etc etc.

Well, these days, I can disrobe from the waist up really quickly so when asked to do that for these pictures, I did and stepped back against the blank wall in the examination room. I “posed” for the shots the doctor needed, pointing my toes to the left wall or to the right wall or at a 90 degree angle, until he had all of the shots he needed.

As I looked at the room and its occupants, I realized that I felt slightly awkward that Dennis was standing behind my doctor as he snapped picture after picture.

Handsome doctor, expensive camera, husband, me naked from the waist up.

Yes. Awkward. And Funny.

I suppose I have to find something to laugh at!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

