wide-eyed at 4am

An Amazing Day in the Midst of It All: June 30

Leave a comment

I had a special treat today! It was provided by two of the most wonderful friends anyone could have.

Julie and Sara Beth insisted that we have a fun day for our little, close knit marketing team and not getting our nails done or a message. (we may save those treats for after surgery) But today they had a day of physical fun planned on the lake. We rented paddleboards and spent 1.5 solid hours of paddling our way around a couple of clam coves – and plowing our way across a pretty busy one. It was the first time doing this for us all and – after a brief lesson – we set off with our guide to explore and enjoy the exhilaration of gliding (well, sometimes gliding) through the water.

BLOG_AmazingLadies

I really didn’t know how great this was going to be for me. I’ve done my regular workouts with relative ease since Diagnosis Day but I’ve not really tried anything new that requires physical agility and coordination. I was reasonably adept at the paddleboarding and kept up quite easily with my companions and our guide. What a relief! Not that I had any suspicions that I wouldn’t be able to do this, but – with recent other changes – who knows. Chalk it up to another normalcy factor!

The day also left me feeling loved and supported and very thankful for my two quite special friends.  And reassured that everything has not changed. I am still me.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

