wide-eyed at 4am

Shoes & Gloves are My Friends

Leave a comment

Keep it as normal as possible. That’s what I’m focused on. I’m determined to change as little as possible.My routine is important – not only in keeping me “normal” but in maintaining my athleticism, my weight and all of the other positive traits exercise provides. Running exhilarates me because of the workout and the freshness and diversity of the out-of-doors where I choose to run. I work through a lot while I’m running so I don’t do music. I want to relish in the solitude of my run. It’s also a stress release but a release in that I work through my sources of frustrations.BLOG_ExhaustedAfterWorkouts

My Friday boxing and running routine is brutal. It exhausts me and allows me to release stress, anger and frustration. Different than running, boxing adds a little violence to it. I can imagine that I’m really beating the fool out of something – maybe now I visualize that it’s the cancer that I’m pounding. I’ve always known the value and benefits of consistent exercise. I began regular exercise very early and have never really deviated far from it.

Even in the early stages of this process, I’m finding comfort in my exercise routine’s normalcy. I think I’ll refer to it as my normalcy factor. And the surgery won’t keep me away from it long. I’ll be back at it as soon as the surgeons will allow it. From what I understand, if I feel like it, I can exercise early in the week following my Thursday surgery. Lower level aerobic exercise and any strength training I want to do with my right arm. Yay!

We work with a trainer – awesome trainer – on Wednesdays and he has been fantastic support – from the very earliest time that he knew. He recommended daily strengthening and stretching exercises for home to strengthen my shoulder – which will atrophy a little. Even just the fist bumps and high fives without saying anything. …I know he’s with me through this. We’ve already discussed the after routine. ….where he will help me stay on track with the recommended limitations but get in as much work possible in areas where I’m allowed.

I also have a walking ritual on the days we don’t go up to Charlotte Athletic Club. Our trainer tells me to walk fast enough to make my ass cheeks hurt. So that is my pace. I can move it and it is quite a workout. You can tell, I’m all about some exercise and trying to stay fit.

BLOG_Shoes  BLOG_Gloves

This is important to me because I know how critical getting back to my schedule will be to my physical, mental and emotional state. You know – the normalcy factor. Exercise and fitness is one of keys. Every doctor I’ve been in contact with has commented on how my good physical condition will serve me well in recovering to my “normal” physical and eomotion state and resuming my life.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

