wide-eyed at 4am

Blessed is the Only Way to Describe It

Leave a comment

I’m truly blessed.Nothing really obvious to “others” has happened yet (I mean surgery) and already I feel incredibly lucky to have my friends and family. The people surrounding me as my support system have already begun to amaze me. And I have a feeling, it’s just beginning.

My parents have my back. They are suffering through this. No parent wants to see their child in the midst of this battle. And since my mom has already fought it, she knows the struggle. But they are both rocks and give us endless support.

Our daughters have been the safety net. They always seem to know just the right time to call. And since they are miles away in Tampa, that is pretty intuitive. When we’re a little down, having a little voice say, “Can I talk to Grandma?” has amazingly healing powers – even if that healing is mostly emotional.BLOG_SupportSystem_2

Our choir and church friends are just the best. They’re waiting for the time when they need to be there to hold a hand, talk or listen, or maybe even just sit in silent support. They’re bringing meals over but more importantly lifting us up in prayer. Included but rising to the top of this group is our Music Director. He was one of the first people I called when I got my surgery date. He’s been very supportive, loving and gracious. He’s asked how I wanted things handled and been very complimentary of how we have gone about informing the special people in our lives who needed to know.

And then there are my co-workers at Jackrabbit who are much more than co-workers. They are amazing people and good friends. Whether it’s been a card, a Cancer Dammit Doll, a supportive hug, phone call, email or lunch or helping me get lost in fun for a day – or just to be there – they’re wonderful even in this “waiting” stage.BLOG_SupportSystem

Our friends at the athletic club are also hanging with us. They’re so supportive and our personal trainer – he’s the one who started me on the regimen of exercises…

Did you think I was going to skip Dennis? From the moment I learned my diagnosis – in the care on that Friday afternoon – he has been there. When he heard the results, he ¬†took my hand and said “I’ll be there right beside you, no matter what.” And he has been during the learning and scheduling phase of this. He’s gone to every appointment, every test, every consult – even pre-opp. I think I mentioned in another post how many breast exams the poor guy has seen now. This is difficult for him. It’s tremendous stress – and even more stress because he doesn’t want his stress to stress me out. (Wow – that was a lot of stress.) It’s reassuring for me. I know that he’ll be there all the time, wherever I am, whatever I need for as long as I need it.

What can I say except that I am blessed.

It’s such an in-between time. I don’t need help getting around. I don’t need anyone to sit with me. I don’t have limits (like I will have after surgery) to keep me from doing normal daily tasks. But all of these and more have been right there to pick up the slack, give me words of encouragement or a hug of support.

This support system is critical to my attitude, my confidence and my comfort in knowing that I don’t have to do this alone.

Of course, faith is the basis of my support system. God gives us the strength to handle whatever we must face. I know that but I’m really depending on it now more than ever.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

