wide-eyed at 4am

Giving and Gifts

Leave a comment

We all have given gifts, received gifts and are blessed with gifts. We also can embody giving spirits.

This past Tuesday, Julie and Sara Beth presented me with my Cancer Dammit Doll. Please note its pink camo motif. The inscription says “Cancer: You can’t get me down. I won’t let you do it. I am a survivor and I won’g let you win it. I am going to rise above the pain and fear victorious and wise. You’re not welcome here. Dammit! Dammit! Dammit!”

I can choke it, hit it or hit something or someone with it. I can read it and allow it to encourage me. It was almost a perfect gift. The perfect gift was the love, support, encouragement and prayers from the two of them.

Dammit

Yesterday I received a bright pink bag as we (the choir) was preparing to process up to the sanctuary for 11 o’clock worship. It was much later when I looked at the contents and found a hand knitted shawl with a note that reads: “This prayer shawl was made for you. It was knit with prayers for healing and comfort. It will wrap you in warmth and remind you that you are loved. God made a promise to us that He would never leave us comfortless. (John 4:18) We pray that wrapped in its warmth, you will feel our Savior’s arms around you. … and lo, I am with you always … (Matthew 28:20)”

PrayerShawl

 

Nancy’s hands created this shawl and I thank her and love her dearly for praying over it as she knitted each stitch. Nancy gave me the same perfect gift as Sara Beth and Julie in her love, support, encouragement and prayers.

My friends are very giving people. Yes, they gave me “gifts.” But they gave me much more because of their giving spirits and what it holds within.

What amazing “gifts” from my very “giving” friends.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

