wide-eyed at 4am

I Didn’t Buy the Camisole

1 Comment

There is a lovely camisole that I’ve heard a lot about – specifically designed for mastectomy patients because it has pockets build into it for holding the grenade drains that will be hanging from my incision.

I’ve been encouraged to go to the special shop on 7th Street that carries it. But that special camisole is $65. Sure, my insurance will cover it. In fact, the shop will even file it for me and I wouldn’t even be out the $65 until reimbursed.

But somehow, it just seems like such a waste to purchase this item so I can be what? A little more stylish? Like those grenades aren’t going to be uncomfortable and bulky enough – no matter what I’m wearing. And where am I really going to want to go that I want to bring those things dangling alongside that constantly need emptying and whose content I have to measure and track anyway.

And you can’t even use the “I’ll wear it again” logic because I can almost guarantee that no one who purchases their mastectomy wear ever wears it again after they’ve recovered from surgery.

By the way, I’m not getting the shower coverlet designed to do the same thing as a garbage bag with a slit cut in the bottom. But I’m sure the shower coverlet has a very special price too. Or any of the other pieces in the “line of special mastectomy apparel.”

It just seems senseless to me and money (even if it isn’t directly my money) wasted.

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “I Didn’t Buy the Camisole

  1. I don’t blame you one bit! Here’s hoping you heal hearty…you’s a real smarty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

