wide-eyed at 4am

The Approach: July 9

Leave a comment

The drive in to the One-Day Surgery Center was calm and traffic was low. We arrived early but it was a good thing because we couldn’t get to the area where we needed to park at first. It took a little maneuvering since orange cones were places in the gate aisle between floors.

Finally, we were walking into the center and I was checking in.

As we sat down to wait on “my time,” someone came up to inform us of the scheduled fire drill. When we replied – “Great, what else is going to happen this morning” and told the nice woman about the parking situation, she gave Dennis a “free breakfast” pass.

It wasn’t five minutes until I was called back and the process began to prepare me for surgery. I follow directions pretty well. If I just look at times like this as “directions I need to follow” I can minimize my nervousness about what is coming. I guess that is compartmentalizing.

So I removed all clothing, adorned the stylish gown, socks and hair net, bagged my clothes and laid on the gurney. Oh – and I waited.

It was a long wait. They are quite expedicious back in that area.

One nurse came in to give me instructions and to make sure that I hadn’t done any of the things I was directed to NOT do – since midnight the night before.

Next came my oncology surgeon. She let me know what was going to take place and who else would be in to see me. The drew some pictures on the surgical area – but said jokingly that the plastic surgeon would really mark me up.

And when he arrived in just a few minutes – he did draw all over me. Apparently some folks mistakes all of his symmetry reference marking for surgical markings and sort of freak out so he noted that most of these markings were for reference it making sure that my results are the best they can be. Wow – anyone who was actually cut in that many places would be worse off than a fileted fish!

So the IV nurse came next. That was actually pretty easy since they numbed my hand first. I had been secretly dreading that because I thought that it would be painful. They gave me some happy drugs and told me that I would probably be starting early.

I drifted off to who-knows-where.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

