wide-eyed at 4am

More Than I Thought

Leave a comment

The pain. Well, I wasn’t thinking that I would have the pain that I had. And I handle pain pretty well.

It was a good thing I had a catheter because I couldn’t even move in a way that would get me out of bed to walk to my bathroom. Almost any move on my left side was painful. Since I had an expanded inserted as the first step of reconstruction, I felt a constant “weight” on the left side of my chest. Deep breaths were “uncomfortable.”

I only administered pain medication 5 times from 4 pm on Thursday until 4 am on Friday (when I asked that they stop it and give me my oral pain option) but it had started to make me nauseous just after administering it. It only took one set of dry heaves to convince me that some other pain alternative should be chosen. It’s pretty scary to me that I could have pressed that medication button so many times. I would imagine that they cut people off who are click happy with it. You could stay plastered the entire time.

I didn’t just pop the pills every 4 hours either. I wanted to stay as clear-headed as possible. I had had enough of being out of it. I didn’t even put my glasses on until Friday night and didn’t check messages until Saturday. If you know me – that is way uncharacteristic. I’m always in my phone and answering messages….

I was surprised that I had the pain that still existing after coming home. It mostly resulted from moving – getting up from the sofa or out of bed – or automatically doing some “restricted” movement with my left arm.

I thought I might be more up and around on post-surgery day 4. But I suppose dressed and sitting up with my laptop actually writing blog posts isn’t bad.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

