wide-eyed at 4am

My Stomach vs. The Antibiotic

Leave a comment

I don’t generally have difficulty with prescriptions. Of course, I don’t have extensive experience in this area. But the antibiotic that I took after discharge was killing me. I thought it might be the effects of the stool softener that accompanied the hydrocodone prescription. After taking only 2 of them, I was having no trouble with the usual binding effects that pain killers can have. On Sunday – while still taking only the antibiotic – I was having painful stomach cramps, bloating and making many trips to the bathroom.

I called this into the doctor’s office weekend service. The on-call doctor called right away, listened to my symptoms and gave me his advice. Apparently, I didn’t really need the antibiotic past 48 hours from surgery so I could stop taking it. Unfortunately, cleansing it from my system wasn’t quite that fast.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

