wide-eyed at 4am

My Own Little Army

Leave a comment

It’s never-ending – this support system. And I pray a prayer of Thanksgiving for it every day.

Whether in the form of brief notes of concern, love and support, they’ve come from family, co-workers, choir friends, athletic club friends, old friends and new friends. And they’ve brought such genuine, heartfelt words that I’ve been encouraged, distracted, consoled and loved through them.

Our girls may not know how much it means to talk to them a lot through this. And to talk to our grandkids who participate in the support and encouragement. It’s very special, very heart-warming and strengthening at a time when I really need it.

My parents seem to know what I need and when to say it or do it.

Friends may not know what to say but just a squeeze of the hand, a hug or a wink and nod works absolute wonders – and the giver may not even realize it. The quick text message or voice mail that says “Thinking of you” means more than its sender knows.

BLOG_ArmyMeals prepared by loving hands, cards chosen and messaged to support, flowers sent to brighten and gifts selected for their special meaning are priceless as symbols of this amazing support system.

I love every participant, every sender, every giver, every creator.

You see it combines into my own little army that is there to help me through this. And that army’s support can be powerfully healing.  I don’t know where I’d be without it.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

