wide-eyed at 4am

No Alcohol

Leave a comment

As much as I love red wine, how could I possibly cut out alcohol?

That was a question that I struggled with for a while. I had done a few “cleansings” where I eliminated alcohol for a few months at a time. But I had a date set in my mind for the “cleanse” to end, so I didn’t have a very hard time staying away from it.

This time I was cutting it out with no end-date in mind. And I was determined.

I had previous attempts at losing some weight but had reached plateaus that I got frustrated with and just couldn’t get by.

This time was going to be different. And the alcohol elimination just became part of the process.

I had read lots of information about weight loss and women in their 50s. success was dependent on the vast reduction of sugar consumption. Sugar in all forms.

This meant that sweets (baked goods, ice cream, candy, etc)  – gone.

White stuff (pasta, rice, potatoes, bread) – gone.

High sugar fruits (watermelon, pineapple, bananas, peaches and grapes) – gone. (But berries, apples and grapefruit are good).

High sugar vegetables (corn and sweet squashes) – gone. (But an entire host of fabulous vegetables remain on the “good” list.)

Of course alcohol gets the double whammy. Not only is the alcohol in itself bad but wine is made of grapes and grapes have one of the highest natural sugar contents of any fruit.

Why is alcohol bad? Well, it’s all about letting your body work at an optimum level. The more things that you put in it that “hinder” it, the more you’re working against yourself and your goals.

When sugar (even “natural” sugar) gets ingested, your body has to work harder to process it. Chemicals (like antibiotics, hormones, artificial sweetners and dairy products) do the same thing. Your body has to go out of its way to process this stuff. This means that it’s expending energy it would otherwise expend burning what you want it to burn. Once you get the engine in your body working without all of this crap, it really hums.

I cut out the sugar and alcohol on July 31, 2014. By December 31, 2014 I was down 30 pounds. I lost 2 pants sizes.

It works. And the fact that it did made it even easier to keep it up. I’m almost to 1 year completely alcohol fee.

Don’t get me wrong. I miss having that red wine every now and then, but I know that I have my systems working the way I want them to work now, so why mess that up just for a glass of wine?

Eventually, I will have a glass of wine on occasion but I’ll always be aware of how I feel after having it and figuring out how much I may be able to tolerate without messing up my body processes.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

