wide-eyed at 4am

No Hormones

Leave a comment

On the advice of my oncology surgeon, I’ve started restricting my poultry consumption to no hormone varieties.  This gives your grocery bill a bit of a boost but that isn’t even a consideration if you think that doing this could keep similar cancer from returning.

My cancer was the result of overgrowth caused by the way my body handles excess hormones (estrogen and progesterone).

Since (as a society) we now consume chicken like crazy, restricting the hormones from that food source alone can be significant. Luckily, some restaurants are realizing this and changing what they serve, Chick Fil-A is one that I’ve very impressed with. They took the step to only serve hormone and antibiotic free chicken in 2014.

The prices range from about $4.99 to $8.99 per pound – depending on which of our fine grocery establishments you frequent.

We’ve found it to be a return to great taste and texture that we didn’t realize had been robbed from us by the chicken producers who “treat” their chickens with ridiculous amounts of unnatural elements.

The no hormone chicken is less chewy/more tender and doesn’t have the spongey texture that we’ve noticed in some over-treated poultry. The flavor is great! One of the reasons people think chicken is flavorless, is because they’ve become conditioned to the kind that is so full of hormones and antibiotics that there is no room left for taste.

I may be biased now, but I would think making this change-over would be good for everyone. And for women – a no-brainer. And for women with daughters – a necessity.

The only reason this is focused on chicken is because of how much of it we eat. I’ve started looking at hormone content in any foods that we eat in fairly large amounts.

It’s really just common sense.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

