wide-eyed at 4am

The Wonder Woman Socks

Leave a comment

Straight from Tampa and the minds of grand children came the Wonder Woman socks – 2 pair of them.

These socks were chosen with the “sole” intention that I wear them while in the hospital to boost my spirits.

And they worked! But not just for me. They actually boosted the spirits of everyone who came in my room. The nurses and techs and doctors and visitors all got something from the socks. Some received a message of encouragement. Some a symbol of strength. And others saw them as a bright spot in the day.

From them, I took that what my condition is may not be in my control but I what I do about it and how I react to it is.

Day 1

BLOG_WonderWoman1

Day 2

BLOG_WonderWoman2

You know sometimes they say that out of the mouths of babes comes wisdom. Well, this is truly one of those moments because this simple choice that they made helped all of us have a little brighter outlook, a little more courage or just have a quick chuckle in the midst of so much seriousness.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

