wide-eyed at 4am

Was I Unknowingly Preparing?

Leave a comment

Almost a year ago, I began a journey. It was a very different journey than the one that I’m on now but somehow I think they are related.

Upon returning from our vacation last summer, I decided to apply some limits to my consumption.

You’ve read about this in my No Alcohol post. The changes these limits made were amazing.

And what’s really interesting is how – after the drastic reduction in my consumption of carbs like pasta, potatoes and bread and rich, sugary desserts – my “taste” for these food types seemed to change.

For example:

We visited all the kids and grandkids between Christmas and New Year’s last year. For dinner one night we had loaded baked potatoes and broccoli and cheddar soup. We had sandwiches for lunch that day. The next morning we had bread with breakfast and then sandwiches again for lunch. It’s just the way we were rolling with 5 kids involved.

Look back at that and count up the carbs! I felt terrible and could attribute the way I felt to nothing else but the carbs. I had a carb hangover!

I noticed that same effect the first time during this dietary journey that I indulged in a piece of rich chocolate cake. Sugar hangover!

It’s not that I don’t like the food anymore, but it does change your desire to dive into a big piece of cheesecake or load up on homemade mac ‘n cheese when you know how it will make you feel!

Part of this journey was also a focus on exercise. I added 2 walking days to the Monday-Wednesday-Friday athletic club schedule so that I was getting good exercise sessions in five days a week.

So putting the running, boxing, walking and training sessions together, I suppose I had developed quite an exercise regime.  By the time Spring of 2015 got here, I was in perhaps the best shape of my life because I not only had my weight in a good place, but I had also eliminated from my diet some of the bad stuff that I’d never eliminated before. My “body machine” was humming.

When I got my diagnosis, my doctors noted that my exceptional physical health (outside of this cancer) would be a huge factor in battling the disease and in recovering.

We know that God works in mysterious ways. I wonder if he had me preparing myself for this new journey.

I hope this is a successful journey too.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

