wide-eyed at 4am

Beauty in the Midst

Leave a comment

Some people aren’t “flower” people. They don’t care to get flowers and would prefer not to have freshly cut flowers in their homes.
I do love to look at cut flowers – and even to do my amateurish job at arranging them sometimes.
So receiving flowers and plants “works” on me. It gives me a lift and makes me feel special. So the ones that greeted me upon arriving home and over the next few days are spread around the areas in our house where we stay most so that we can look at them often and get a renewal of cheer as we pass by them.

You just can’t get down. So look for something beautiful. Luckily I’m surrounded by beauty – thanks to the amazing friends of the support system.

BLOG_FlowersGreetMe

Hydrangeas are just about my favorite and are a bit symbolic to me as a flower survivor.

The hydrangeas are just about my favorite and are a bit symbolic to me as a flower survivor.

The ones that I see in my kitchen now show me that beauty can be refreshed. Hydrangea blooms can wilt – looking like they’re on the verge of croaking and could never return to their previous beauty – and then surprise you the next morning by appearing fresh and supple after a dose of cool night’s air and early morning dew.

BLOG_July19Hydrangea1_400x198

I hoping that I can sort of be a hydrangea. After all of this treatment, I hope that I can recover refreshed and rejuvenated – and recover whatever kind or level of beauty I may have.

When it’s all said and done, I want me to be me again.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

