wide-eyed at 4am

Thank Goodness for Work

Leave a comment

I’m not a napper. If I’m sleeping a lot during the daytime, you know I’m sick. So, while I’m not fully recovered, (still have drain attached, still can’t do many things with my left arm, still have some pain from surgery) I am also not tired and weak.

Having a job that is basically lots of reading, thinking and typing allows me to work as if I had no left arm restrictions – as if it were earlier this Spring – a time before I really understood what constant worry was.

If there is one thing that I can do, it’s focus on what’s at hand.  At for that I’m thankful.

You see, I began at about 8:45 am and before I knew it, my stomach was growling. I was totally oblivious to the fact that it was almost noon.

After a quick lunch, I jumped back into developing blog posts and looking at the topics that Sara Beth and I had bounced back and forth to assign (and try to get completed) before she leaves for Haiti.

I had barely gotten back into it before it was time to call into our weekly marketing scrum call.

After going over what each of our weekly goals are, we ended our call and I went directly back to my unfinished post.

Now it’s past 5:30 pm and I just shut that stuff down but not before pulling some files off of my office computer to work on tonight on my laptop as I let a little TV wash over me.

Being able to focus on writing content and organizing our week’s plans today provide a good escape – even if it was just a few hours – from the thoughts my imagination can dredge up if I’m just “resting” and staring at the TV or – even worse – the wall. I can lose myself in the topic at hand and not be forced to think about tomorrow’s body scan or my next surgery or chemo or radiation until after I save and close the document.   work, focus,

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

