wide-eyed at 4am

Highlights for the Hospital

1 Comment

The day began with a good conversation with my oncology surgeon. We went through what the first surgery accomplished and what the pathology results were (and meant) as well as what is coming up tomorrow.  Then we discussed my questions. (I was not as much of the deer-in-the-headlights)

Then the topic turned to hair and how closely they can predict when I will lose mine. It seems the magic number is 21 days after the first chemo treatment. Amazing that they can predict down to the day! This is good thing because it will help me decide when I should start shortening my hair (like really short) to prepare myself for the “bald me” and to save “me” from the “handfuls of hair falling out” effect that WILL happen if I don’t get a head start on it.

Then we discussed wigs. I had actually thought I would just skip that part but the more I heard how long I may be bald, the more I thought about looking at wigs. I think hats will get pretty old every day for 4-6 months.

So it was lucky for me, I also had an appointment with (the amazing) Eddie – my hair stylist – today!!

Besides talking about how to “approach” the chemo days, Eddie and I also discussed some ways he had helped some in similar situations handle this in entertaining ways. It’s inevitable. It IS going to happen. So I may as well make the best of it.

So as my treatment days approach, I at least have a plan and someone (Eddie) who will help me with it. Now I suppose I need to go hair shopping!BLOG_Highlights

But for now, he gave me new highlights for my hospital visit this week. My July 9th surgery forced me to cancel my July cut and color date, but I made up for it today – determined not to go in tomorrow morning with a shabby do and gray roots!

11am tomorrow we will get rid of the rest of the diseased tissue. Then we will zap anything that may be thinking about turning into something vile with chemo and radiation…..

I just got a text telling me to “Give it hell, sister!” And that is just what I plan to do.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Highlights for the Hospital

  1. Lifting you up in prayer this morning before your surgery. Will continue to do so throughout the day. God has you in the palm of His hand. Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

