wide-eyed at 4am

Made It through Two

1 Comment

There are lots of things that I’ve done in the last two months that I didn’t think I would ever be doing. Coming out of my second surgery in two weeks is definitely one of them.

I remember lots of things about this surgery that I didn’t remember about the first one. Moving from bed to operating table was one. Inhaling the anesthesia was the other. Amazing how the same process can affect you in such different ways.  But just the same was the feeling that I had only been asleep for a few seconds when they were wheeling me over to my resting place for the night at CMC Main.

Both doctors discussed their parts of the operation in detail with Dennis as surgery ended but then we me in my room later.

But I feel good about it. It may be painful now and I may be stuck not even being able to open the drawer to get toothpaste for several days, but every day is another step towards being done with this. And that is what it’s about. Facing it and doing what I need to do to give it the beatdown.

I’ll have my post-op appointments but the appointment that has me the most anxious now is the meeting that will soon be scheduled with my oncologist. She will be directing my chemo – so she will also be leading e thought this phase of progress. After that meeting I will know more about exactly what I’m looking at as far as a chemo time frame goes.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Made It through Two

  1. Hi Jill Hoping you have been resting and found a way to get comfortable these days since your surgery . Prayers still coming your way and hoping everything is healing the way it should and that the discomfort is less each day. Reading your blog it is neat about your friend and you hearing about each other and can now lift each other up during this time . Do hang in there and just know many are still praying. Sincerely ,Bells

    Like

Leave a Reply

