wide-eyed at 4am

Traveling Clothes: Slip-on Magic

Leave a comment

There are a few things that I learned from the first surgery. Besides learning that morphine makes me nauseous, I learned what clothing is a bad idea for your trip home.

I also learned that – especially if you’re making it a short stay – don’t bother with pajamas. While the back-baring gown is no fashion statement, it does make it easy to go to the bathroom (especially when you can’t use both your hands after this surgery) and it really doesn’t matter what you spill on it or if you bleed on it because it isn’t going home with you.BLOG_TravelFashion_07262015

Now back to the traveling clothes. First trip, I wore jeans, an old pullover knit shirt and comfortable Merrill walking shoes.  To come home, I packed a clean panties (of course) front button close short sleeved blouse but determined that I would wear the same shoes and pants that I came in with. Bad idea.

You can’t pull up panties very well, much less pull up, fasten and zip blue jeans. Forget putting on your own socks and tying shoes. So with my choices, Dennis had to do almost everything – including button my shirt.

Second trip, I used my head. What I wore comfortable clothes in but for the trip home, I made changes that made a huge difference in my ease of getting dressed and in my comfort in taking the wheelchair ride down and climbing in and out of our car.

I chose some fairly lose fitting yoga pants and a zip up light weight jacket to wear over my pink corset. I had slip-on sketchers and a baseball cap so I didn’t have to worry with what my hair looked like.

Easy and I didn’t look ½ bad!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

