wide-eyed at 4am

Powerful Conversation

Leave a comment

I have a friend from high school that I learned had cancer several years ago. He had treatment and was free and clear for a while. About the same time that I learned my diagnosis, he must have been learning that his was back.

I found out about this through another friend.

I had hesitated to reach out to him because he was getting ready to travel out of town for surgery and reconstruction that over lapped a lot with my surgery and recover days. I didn’t know if he knew what I was going through but – looking back on it – I should have been more forward in sharing my journey with him.

When he found out about me, he did what I should have done – and called.

It was a great conversation. He’s not having surgery in a few days but has changed his mind to undergo a pretty stiff regimen of chemo and radiation administered together over a 7 weeks period. That starts in about 10 days. He will start that a little before I will probably be starting my chemo.

He’s very brave. He was just concerned about me and hoping that I was feeling OK. After he heard what was taking place, he commented “You’re going to be just fine.” He said it with lots of authority. Just like someone who has already given cancer the beatdown once. We’re planning to have our pictures made together when we’re both bald from chemo.

We talked lots about doing what you have to do to beat it. Taking one day at a time. And Worrying more about our families that ourselves.

It was good to know that he has many feelings and attitudes that parallel mine.

So the day brought a pleasant surprise. Calm: my own trying to be calm or feeling calmed by this conversation.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

