wide-eyed at 4am

A Corner Turned

1 Comment

I feel like I’ve turned a corner in my recovery.

  • Very little Tylenol needed.
  • Better movement.
  • Clearer head.
  • Drainage decreasing and changing to good colors.

And I slept through from 1:30 until 5:15am! I haven’t gotten that much sleep (except for when anesthetized) since my May 5 mammograms.

This makes me very happy because I was beginning to think that decent sleep was something I was never going to experience again.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s follow-up appointment with hopes for getting drains removed. If this happens, I will happily be moving around more – getting out and around people and places again!

I’m still awaiting an appointment date with my newest doctor – a medical oncologist who will be directing my chemo treatments.

One of the most interesting things (besides how tremendously debilitated my left arm muscles/nerves actually are) is how the back of my upper arm can actually be numb and hurt at the same time.

Numbness to the touch of my hand but then stinging sensations like bee stings take over but thankfully aren’t constant. The body is amazing in its reactions and responses to things and in its ability to adjust and heal.

Right now one of the most uncomfortable aspects of my situation is my expander (the component inserted between my rib cage and pectoral muscle – into the pocket left by the left breast that will be used to create the pocket that will eventually hold the implant that will make me look “normal.”

My pectoral muscle isn’t happy about this. It’s fighting the situation. It expresses its distaste for the expander by trying to push it out. It contracts and becomes very hard – pushing the expander against my rib cage even harder. This is somewhat painful – especially while the surgical incisions are healing. If I’m lying flat of my back, it feels like what I would imagine a cow stepping on my chest would feel like. And makes it uncomfortable to take a deep breath. At first this was quite disconcerting but I’ve gotten accustomed to it now and know that it will pass in a few minutes as my muscle gives up on pushing the expander out for the time being. This will dissipate as the muscle accepts the fact that the expander isn’t going away. As the expander is gradually filled (over the next few months) to recreate my “normal” appearance, the fight with my muscle will be reignited. But it shouldn’t be quite as intense since pain from surgeries should be gone.

Sorry for going on about the expander situation – That’s probably far more information than you’ve ever wanted to know about breast reconstruction!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “A Corner Turned

  1. So thankful you had a good day and got some sleep .Amazing how that can help and do hope your pain is less each day as your body heals and gets use to the expander.I was still up at 4AM and almost emailed so glad you were sleeping. Do take care and hopefully you will get to go see the Grandchildren and can have a good weekend! Sincerely, Carol and Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

