wide-eyed at 4am

Down with the Drain! So now there’s just one…

1 Comment

Afternoon appointment with my favorite plastic surgeon…

I had lots of questions today since I had been doing my exercises since leaving the hospital for the second time. Like “How much should this hurt?” “What is a reasonable frequency for my daily exercises?” and “When can I get rid of these drains?”

So the answers were good and made me feel much better about the fact that I am making progress.

First of all, I should stop the exercises when they “hurt.” I should feel like they are working but I should put myself in pain. (I like this)

Secondly, the number of times I do this during each day totally depends on my pain level. Unlike the pyscho physical therapist suggested in the hospital, I DO NOT have to do these every hour. The important thing is that I keep moving my should and the exercises represent the motions that I should be making sure that my shoulder is doing every day.(I like this, too)

And now thirdly, my #2 drain (which was “his” drain) could be removed. (I really like this) It’s a triumph over Drain #2!

BLOG_Drain1_07262015

I thought this might hurt. Thoughts of him tugging and dragging the plastic tube out of my underarm area just didn’t sound like it could NOT be painful. But he promised and he’s pretty accurate.He said it would feel weird. (that is a complex medical term)

The only thing that “was a little sting” (as doctors like to describe it) was removing the stitches that were holding the tube in place. That was uncomfortable but quick. And pulling the tube out felt like a worm was moving under my skin. So he was spot on with “weird.”

Everyday I’m moving forward – which is awesome. I can’t wait to have more movement and use of my left arm/hand and to get out more and back to normalcy.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Down with the Drain! So now there’s just one…

  1. Great news Jill ! SO thankful and know you are so glad to be freed from the #2 drain! I know when Bob got the TPN out of his arm ( which was similar in that it went up inside his arm but to his heart) and was unhooked from the TPN I V after a month it was a great feeling of freedom for him. SO very thankful and praying each day brings you
    closer to a full recovery . Take care and know our prayers continue. Love,Bells

    Like

Leave a Reply

