wide-eyed at 4am

The Wig Show: A Fun Day of Shopping

1 Comment

We had planned a big day of wig shopping for today. We’d been advised to visit Ginny’s in Gastonia AND Tony’s Ice Cream afterward so by 11am, we were off.

BLOG_WigShoppingONTHEWAY_08012015

Ginny’s is in sort of an old part of Gastonia. From the outside, you wouldn’t think they would have much of a selection. But when you walk through the door, there are wigs everywhere. And not some trailer park trash looking ones but some really beautiful ones.

There was only one person working today and she already had her hands full with a young lady in a similar situation as me who had her entire family (parents and several children) there to help with the decision.

I noted that I would just look around but before long the wonderfully helpful lone clerk and wig expert was running back and forth between me and Dennis and the other group. I apologized because I know that they prefer that you make appointments. But I “just wanted to look” first. What I didn’t know was that you really can’t just look at the wigs on the styrofoam heads. (Well, you can. But it does you NO good.) And this amazing lady knew this. Set me up with a seat, table and mirror – and and extra chair placed perfectly so Dennis could get a good look at each candidate.

I started with 4. That group quickly expanded as my helper buzzed by noting that she knew one that would look fabulous on me. I don’t even know how many I tried but I went through MANY – even goofing around with some fun ones.

What was really frightening was how you start off. You put a skull cap on that is really tight and made me want to get a wig on my head quickly so I didn’t have to look at this (see below) in the mirror any longer than I had to.

BLOG_SkullCap_08012015 - Copy

Some that I thought I would really like were – ummmm – not so good. I was beginning to think that I wouldn’t find anything that wouldn’t look so much like a wig that I would never want to wear it. But I wasn’t going to be discouraged that easily.

Dennis was snapping pictures the entire time, so you’re in for a wig show!

BLOG_WigShopping#1_08012015 - Copy  BLOG_WigShopping#2&3_08012015 - Copy

BLOG_WigShopping#8&9_08012015  BLOG_WigShopping#11REDHEAD_08012015

We soon found a few that look really cute – and that encouraged me to try more – and to start having more fun with it.

BLOG_WigShoppingHAT+HAIR_08012015  BLOG_WigShopping#7_08012015

BLOG_WigShopping#12CW&13RED_08012015  BLOG_WigShopping#14PURPLE_08012015

Dennis even got in on it – trying on a solid white man’s wig.

BLOG_WigShoppingDinWHITE_08012015

I have these two on hold since I don’t have my hair prescription yet.

BLOG_WigShoppingFav#1and#2_08012015

These don’t look exactly like my hair right now…

BLOG_MyHair_08012015 - Copy

…but I think they are adorable….

My helper advised that I wait to purchase to make sure that I wasn’t doing something that would cause my insurance company to disallow coverage.

I can’t believe I had her hold 2. A few weeks ago, I never thought I would even go look at them.

Actually, I would get a couple of others if I had a limitless budget. There were several that would be fun to wear for no other reasons than “just because I can.”

I also found a pretty headband and beautiful scarf-shawl that I purchased and brought home with me today.

BLOG_NewShawl-Scarf_08012015 - Copy

I strangely excited about the wigs. I hope I can find out about the best purchase timing and go back over and get them soon. This is the complete opposite of how I thought I would feel after trying on wigs. I was expecting to be down – maybe a little upset – and ready to drown my sorrows in ice cream.

BLOG_BlackCheeryMilkshake_08012015 - Copy

After the 3-hour wig shopping experience, we hit Tony’s Ice Cream and I pigged out instead of drowning my sorrows with a huge Black Cherry Milk Shake. I thought I might explode after finishing it. But it was sooooooo good, I couldn’t resist. Besides that – I worked for it, didn’t I?

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “The Wig Show: A Fun Day of Shopping

  1. Looks great and so glad you and Dennis made it a fun day. I have to say when I wore my wig to school the first day back to work it was the first time (seemed like) ever!!! that I had been complimented about my hair… People said they liked and couldn’t tell and didn’t know that it was a wig. Maybe they just said that but even to me it was nice to have a hairstyle that didn’t wilt as soon as I walked out the door etc. Think you look great Jill in the short hair and Dennis well yours ? not quite you! Hee Hee! Um the ice cream after well sounded like a good day ! Take care! Carol and Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

