wide-eyed at 4am

Drains, No! Wigs, Yes!

1 Comment

Follow-up appointment with my fantastic oncology surgeon was today. I’m totally thrilled because she removed my remaining drain. I didn’t feel a thing. Not even the pinch when the stitch was cut of the wormy feeling as the drain tube snaked its way out from my skin.

It’s a little sore now, but what do you expect when there is a hole from a tube in the delicate skin just south of your armpit?

But there is icing on this cake!

I can apply deodorant to that side again!!! Everyone else probably appreciates that more than I do, but I’m pretty thrilled because these 100 degree days can make me not want to stand downwind of myself.

The disappointing part of the day was that i’m doing so well that I won’t be seeing this doctor for a while. I have a 3-month follow-up but at that point she will be out on maternity leave. I will meet with her partner. I won’t see her again until my 6 month follow-up. I know it’s silly. But I’ve never had a doctor that I felt this comfortable with and could absolutely say anything to or ask anything of. I’m going to miss that.

Part two of this awesome day is that my doctor also wrote my hair prosthesis prescription. So what, you may say. But it is a big so what! I could go back to Ginny’s and pick up my wig(s).

On the way over, I had decided – even though 2 were being held for me – that I would get just one. The one that I would get the most use from.

So I did go straight in and purchase that one. But Ms. Ginny herself was there and she noted that she knew the perfect
wig to pick up the amber-copper sparks in my hazel eyes. And she was right. This wig is similar in style to wig 1 but has reddish highlights. It does light up my eyes.

BLOG_HairReplacement1_08052015BLOG_HairReplacement2_08052015BLOG_HairReplacement3_08052015BLOG_Ginnys_08052015

Ms. Ginny is quite the salesperson. I fell for her “eyes” comment hook, line and sinker. I think I’m lucky I got out with just two. If I go back, I’m afraid I’ll end up with another!

Don’t get me wrong. Ms. Ginny is as sweet as she can be. I believe her heart is in it. She takes her time with you and gets to know you. She has great intuition about your “style” and what a good wig fit is. She works with many in the same situation as me – and that gives her the understanding of what will be comfortable when your hair is gone and how your hair will come back in.

She makes getting “replacement hair” a great experience – not a trying one. And I appreciate that.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Drains, No! Wigs, Yes!

  1. Thankful all went well today and that progress is happening daily . You are a trooper ! Take good care and know thoughts and prayers continue for you and Dennis from so many all of the time.Bells

    Like

Leave a Reply

