wide-eyed at 4am

Healing Power of a Visit

1 Comment

As soon as the drains came out, we were off.

First to Gastonia to see Ginny and purchase my wigs.

Then – on Thursday morning – we packed the car and drove 9 ½ hours to Tampa. With Connor’s 10th birthday taking place on the 5th, we had a grandparent job to do in helping in the celebration. I also wanted to see everyone before the hair events start to happen – and I may not feel so good as the chemotherapy progresses.

About 3 hours into the trip, I was rethinking the wisdom in this. The vibration from the car – as slight as it was – didn’t do my arm much good. The stinging sensation that had almost dissipated came back. Luckily, my Carolina Breast Friends pillow helped.

I was tired when we arrived but not suffering much unusual pain.

The hugs from the kids and grandkids cured whatever discomfort I was feeling.

I had a gift awaiting me. All of the kids were excited for me to open it.

And when I pulled it out of the gift bag, I saw why! I now have a beautiful (and cuddly) pink chemo blanket. They had heard that often patients get cold while chemo is administered and wanted me to have a blanket (that they made) to keep me warm with it softness but also with their thoughts – because their names are embroidered on the blanket.

Accompanying the blanket were several land drawn cards from Hannah and Camden. Camden also made me a pink loop bracelet!

blanket2

BLOG_bracelet from Cam

How could I help but feel uplifted?

They definitely light up my life.

The entire long weekend provided a healing process for me. I wasn’t expected nor encouraged to do anything that breached the limits of my “exercise”.  And everyone helped me do (or did for me) whatever it was that I needed.

We enjoyed watching the twins workout with their trainer, Camden take his golf lesson and were treated to a ballerina show by Hannah.

BLOG_BallerinaShow

I watched as chocolate cupcakes with green icing were made for Connor’s birthday celebration.

BLOG_ConnorCupcakes

I sat on each of the twins beds and helped them select the clothes that needed to be weeded out of their closets.

BLOG_withAerin BLOG_Kirsten2

BLOG_Kylie+Grandma BLOG_KTH BLOG_Kirst-Tay-Jill BLOG_Hannah+Taylor BLOG_Hannah+Jill BLOG_Grandma+Boys




On Saturday evening, we had a wig show. Everyone got to see me in my new hair and our girls even put them on to see how they looked with different locks!

BLOG_Wigged BLOG_WiggedJA

I was sad to leave on Monday morning, but knew that I needed to be home to rest and to get back to the work that I had set aside on Thursday afternoon.

Love and support of family is the best medicine you can take. Too bad pharma companies can’t bottle it for those who have to travel this journey alone.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Healing Power of a Visit

  1. So happy for you to have made the wonderful trip and visit to see your family. I was thinking about you today and that I had not read a new entry and just hoped you had gone on a mini vacation . Great medicine to feel such love . Such a lovely blanket and so thoughtful. You are blessed! Take good care and rest up from the car ride. Thoughts and prayers as you begin your treatments. You look great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

