wide-eyed at 4am

Going Short

1 Comment

It was a momentous day. Hair – chopped. Wigs – styled. Echo Cardiogram – passed. Chemo Teach – scheduled. Why do these things matter?

The hair and wig events mark another step forward. I made the first step in reducing the amount of hair that I have in preparation for the day that I’ll have none.BLOG_Long&Short

The wig styling goes right along with this. Eddie spent the first part of our appointment working with the two wigs that I’ll likely use the most to get them styled around my face and fit more into the style that I generally wear. I actually love the way they look. I have another blonder and longer wig that I will likely use some – and we will style that in a few weeks.

To me this day really signals that I’m embracing what’s ahead. I know that my treatment will change my life. They will change it in a distressing way short term by compromising the way that I feel and look. The treatments will change my life in a good way long-term as it will rid my body of any possible stray cells that could cause future trouble. Looking at it that way makes the short term effects much more tolerable considering what the long term benefits are.

The Echo Cardiogram is significant because it’s necessary to show that you have no heart issues to prevent you from qualifying for chemo. Mine showed adequate heart health to runner stamp my treatment. The Chemo Teach is also one of the other checklist items that you must complete before starting chemo. With my session scheduled for Monday morning, I’m closer than ever to getting my chemo schedule and getting started with the 20 week process. And that is most certainly why these things matter to me.

Sort of a funny thing to be “excited” about but getting my life and myself back requires this. So let’s get on with it. And I can make it better for everyone my journey touches by taking it on with humor, positivity and an aggressive beatdown attitude.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Going Short

  1. HI Jill

    So good to read the way things are progressing and that you will soon begin the count down of treatments. A friend of mine from high school just completed her treatments and I look forward to you celebrating that day on the calendar that marks , as you said, completing the good part of this next step in your treatment, ridding yourself of any chance of any cancer and the peace that comes with knowing that you have done all that you can do to accomplish that goal. Praying for you and hoping that it will go by quickly and hopefully with few side effects.

    Great to have Eddie who is all you spoke of : a friend , a choir member , and an expert in helping others and making whatever is needed look more beautiful whether it be flowers for the alter or styling your wig to personalize it for you.

    Your comments on the choir are so heartfelt and sincere and uplifting and really wonderful. Many who feel the same could not have expressed how much the choir means so well. You are a good writer blogger and it is like a family.

    Do take care . I can sing for you the first fall Chamber Sunday that you are first scheduled August 30th if you need me to sing. Hoping you keep feeling the prayers.

    Love,
    Bells

    Like

Leave a Reply

