wide-eyed at 4am

Friend Therapy

3 Comments

Being with friends is great for mental outlook and the timing of the choir retreat couldn’t have worked out better for giving me just that.

A big week lies ahead, but here I sit at Bonclarken (near Flat Rock NC) at our choir retreat – soaking up positive thoughts, support and love from my friends and choir family.Music_Bonclarken

This retreat is important for choir members to get a start on what is ahead for the rest of 2015. We sing through every anthem scheduled through the end of the year and sing through (or review) the larger works we’re doing for Christmas (or in this year’s case – also epiphany in early January).

It’s a little frustrating for me because singing isn’t very easy with the expander in place. It creates discomfort since it is positioned between my rib cage and pectoral muscle. To add to that, I just had my second expansion on Friday, so there is even more tension between my muscle, rib cage and expander.

Taking deep breaths is almost impossible and that doesn’t do much for a person who is trying to sing through a full folder of music from Friday evening through Sunday morning.

But – even with that difficulty, frustration and discomfort, I wouldn’t trade being here for anything. This is a great way for me to prepare for the upcoming week.

GroupRehearsal_Bonclarken

I have an hour’s Chemo Teach on Monday. This is a service that Levine provides so that patients learn as much as possible about the drugs, side effects and how to minimize or eliminate them from a nurse.  While at this Chemo Teach, I hope to be able to get my blood work done as a pre-chemo treatment check that will save me making a trip to Levine-Pineville on Wednesday.  On Tuesday, I have my port placement. It will be much easier to get my Chemo infusion through the port (especially since I have to have 16 treatments). It will save wear and tear on my arm and free my right arm up for working through each session.  I actually do 3 visits for each treatment (blood work, infusion, immune system booster shot) on 3 separate days. This was the driver in my decision to have the port instead of each event making a new stick in my right arm.  This is really the smartest way to handle this considering all of the factors.

JillandLisette_BonclarkenThursday, as noted earlier, I have my first Chemo treatment at Levine-Pineville. This consumes about ½ a day. On Friday I have to return to Levine-Pineville for my immune system booster. This only takes a few minutes, but is still disrupts the day.

I’m anxious to see how I handle Chemo. Fingers crossed for minimal side effects!

Being with everyone gives me a good dose of support. Lots of hugs and love from good friends who are like my extended family. I know they are right their with me. Prayers and positive thoughts. And that will help me do everything I need to do this week with a positive attitude and a smile on my face.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

3 thoughts on “Friend Therapy

  1. Wow ! Good for you! I didn’t know if you were planning to go to Bonclarken this year with all that is going on and the breathing and eating potluck etc So glad and know the hugs and well wishes mean so much as you get ready to begin treatments You will do well and I know it will be OK because of your positive outlook and energy and also because of the love from Dennis and family and friends and FAITH! Take care and rest when you can .Bells Give all our best .

    Like

  2. I’m sure you know that some of your previous choir family are pulling for you, too! Wishing you all the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

