wide-eyed at 4am

Sport the Port

2 Comments

I acquired a new fashion accessory today: an infusion port. I suppose I should categorize it more as body art than fashion accessory since it looks more like one of those under-the-skin designs that some who enjoy those trends have.

BLOG_TheWaitingArea BLOG_GoodDrugs BLOG_Incisions BLOG_SleepingItOff

My right chest now has such an element. Unlike real under-the-skin body art, mine is actually useful. This will be pure rescue for the veins in my right arm that would endure quite a beating from the chemo drugs and the number of sticks my treatment requires – without the port.

Going Home

First use will be on Thursday as the Chemo regimen begins.

BLOG_BlingThis visit also enabled me to expand my collection of hospital bling. I have an assortment since I was deemed a fall risk because of pain meds, a medical allergy risk, and now I have a limb restriction. I can imagine that this is not the full extent of the bling that I will receive while completing my treatments and reconstructive surgery.

Today, I suppose, is a milestone of sorts. With this step, I’m really ready for Thursday.

Watch out chemo, I’m going to be in your face. You won’t get me down.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “Sport the Port

  1. Wonderful to see you so strong and even processing at the Memorial Service for David Bashor. The choir was magnificent and I know the music blessed ,especially the family ,but also all who were there to hear the choir and the organ that David was so instrumental in obtaining fill the sanctuary with glorious inspiration.. I love the blanket and you look so pretty and comfortable snuggling under it. Hoping your chemo goes well and thankful you got the port ” in” hopefully without too much discomfort. Let me know if you need me to sing for you this Sunday in Chamber . I owe you one anyway, but then again you are such a trooper I didn’t expect to see you singing yesterday (singing is so much more physical than most think . So let me know . Bob and I were so moved by the service and during our visit with Pam and Melissa Friday…really makes you think how quickly things can happen and we just continue to pray for your healing.

    Like

  2. Thinking of you today, Jill as you start chemo. You are such a light and have lots of love and faith in your life! Wishing you an uneventful day of infusion and feeling like your self as soon as possible. Hugs and hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

