wide-eyed at 4am

Infusion Room Etiquette

2 Comments

When I chose my chair in the LCI Pineville infusion room, I didn’t know what I had done.

It seems that human nature is to choose the seat that is next to the fewest people.  This logic failed me because of the amazingly disturbing presence of the person across from me. Wow. As soon as we got settled we thought: “This was a mistake. This person has no social graces or awareness of what is going on around her.” As the time ticked away, it became her ridiculousness because comical. I was amazed at her self-absorbed, inconsiderate nature.

I’ll try to break it down without being boring.

Noise

Manage yourself. There are people in the room who are alone, who are struggling with their condition, who don’t feel well and who really aren’t in the mood to spend the better part of the afternoon around a spoiled, obnoxious, inconsiderate, young woman.

This person had her mom and stepfather with her. These folks must not spend much time together (perhaps the parents are from out-of-town) because she had to explain every detail of her life – not just her condition – to them. (Hence my assumption that they are not close by and may not even talk very much.) She and the stepfather didn’t seem to have much familiarity at all, leading us to believe that he recently stepped into that role.

She had no volume control – and we could hear every word she said with no effort on our part. And I believe the entire room knows why she only wears Berkinstocks.

Device Use

I was using 2 devices the entire time so I obviously have no issue with those getting their infusion doing so. However, there are some people who think that everyone in the room needs to know that they are using mobile devices. She read social media posts out load to her and from her news feed and made comments on the stupidity of all of those who were posting. She stayed in her devices the entire time, interjecting her own life details to the two who kept asking questions that just didn’t seem like ones parents would ask.

She received several messages from apparent co-workers and she talked to her phone making comments like “Sally, what are you doing in that message?” Very odd.

Demeanor

How can I put this nicely? I don’t want to insult anyone who does or has lived in a trailer or mobile home, but the mother and daughter were TPT (trailer part trash). But they didn’t think they were – which is one of the most common characteristics of these folks.

Drama was what this one was all about. The world needed to revolve around her. She was also quite the know-it-all. Degrading co-workers and the nurses working with her to do her infusion – after they walked off, of course. Even if she were a business owner or executive she might have the knowledge to criticize her co-workers but she was a 37-year-old waitress.  (again- I don’t want to insult those in this profession but this job doesn’t give you the experience necessary to understand management and finances.)  And she obviously didn’t have anywhere near the medical knowledge to criticize the nurses who were compassionately and patiently working with her.

A perfect example of her demeanor:

Mom asked her daughter if there was anything they could get for her. After a long discussion covering everything from shoes to food, the mother walked to the restroom. The daughter turned to stepdad and commented: “Well, I know one thing that I want but it’s useless to tell you because you won’t remember.” Lovely.  She also commented – in front of both mom and stepdad – that at least her mother had made a good choice in marrying a pilot this time since she likes flying so much and all and now she can do it on the cheap.

I’m telling you, there was nothing appealing about this girl. She’s destined to be single for the rest of her life.

I took a couple of pictures of her and if I were her I would probably post them. But I’m not that rude.

I’ll be walking into that room again Thursday after next and I’ll be searching the room for her set-up to make sure that I choose the opposite end of the room. I don’t need the distraction since I’m actually working during my infusions.

I’m sure the nurses working in infusion have seen every personality type. Those who think they should get preferential treatment and that all nurses are at their beck and call. There are the know-it-alls and the ones who think they are rock stars. There are the difficult ones. There are the pitiful ones and there are just the crabby ones. I’m sure there are also ones that are a little cray-cray. And there are ones with several of these traits rolled into a single package.

I’m not saying that I’m the perfect patient, but I do understand that I’m not the medical expert. The best thing that I can do is cooperate. I ask questions if I have them but I’m not demeaning. I’m pleasant to the wonderful people who are taking care of me. I’m surely not stupid enough to make trouble for the person with the needle coming in my direction.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “Infusion Room Etiquette

  1. Jill, I’m so sorry you had to deal with an inconsiderate person. These people don’t seem to realize they are infringing on the peace and quiet rights of others, and they don’t care.

    Like

  2. Lol. She sounds like a peach. I have been in the infusion room with mom many times and never had to put up with something like that. Guess it’s a little like the DMV – never know who you’re going to run into. Sorry you had to put up with that and glad you’ve got Dennis to take care of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

