wide-eyed at 4am

Soaking in Sunshine and Support

Leave a comment

It may not have been the smartest thing to do since I really didn’t know how I was going to respond to my first chemo treatment, but I packed up my lunch and headed up to Mooresville with Dennis on Saturday morning.

Jackrabbit’s company picnic was getting started at Carrigan Farms as we pulled up. My marketing girls were there and I was so happy to see them. They’ve been such amazing support for me and Dennis.

BLOG_Carrigan_MarketingTeam

Dennis set up a place for us to sit so we could watch everyone enjoy the quarry swimming hole. I think just being out in the fresh air and sunshine worked wonders for my psyche.

As others arrived, I was able to see people that I’ve not seen since surgery – and some since being diagnosed. I couldn’t take medicine that would make me feel better than the support and love of this group of people. Whether I talked at length or just for a moment, I could see the genuine concern and willingness to help in each person’s eyes. I’m very lucky.

One of my coworkers at the company has just learned that she has breast cancer and I was happy to see her at the picnic. We had emailed back and forth but I really wanted to see her (and her husband) in person. We’re both fortunate to be Levine patients. She’s on a different treatment track that me because she has a different type of breast cancer but this gives us an immediate bond and a new support connection that I think will be good for both of us as we continue our treatment journeys.

Unfortunately, I started to feel some of the effects of the chemo and immune system booster drugs. I felt fatigue and a headache coming on so we left this beautiful spot and our supportive company.

I can’t wait until we (hopefully) have an event here again. I want to do the 30 foot jump into the quarry! The water was very inviting and the setting amazing. I’ve never seen a rock quarry swim area before.  The view from the jumping rock was great! And I loved the fact that one jump was even done because I couldn’t do it. It took her a while, but after arriving home, I got a text with this picture…

BLOG_Carrigan_KarensJump

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

