wide-eyed at 4am

Medical Translation

1 Comment

You know that medical terms are meant to inform us that something is going to happen but are stated in such a way that they don’t freak anyone out. Unless you have a doctor or nurse who is VERY honest about pain, you have to sort of take them with a grain of salt.

Over the past few months, I’ve become very experienced with this. Here are some of my translations.

Uncomfortable/Feel a little discomfort = It’s going to hurt

Tightness = Dull pain

Pinch/stick = Quick sharp pain

Shouldn’t feel this at all = You will feel it and you won’t like what you feel

Bee sting = There is a discrepancy in the size of the bee referred to here (Tiny honeybee vs. Huge hornet or one of those large queen yellow jackets)

Painful = Hold onto your bedrails

I’m sorry if this hurts/I don’t mean to hurt you = Uncontrollable one-eye tear trickle

Verbal warning that it is coming = Wish for a bullet to bite

No criticism of the medical professionals who use these terms. I know that they are trying to avoid any opportunity for pain panic in their patients. I just find translating them a little humorous!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Medical Translation

  1. From my perspective form last year, pretty right on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

