wide-eyed at 4am

Back in the Groove

2 Comments

I never planned or wanted to have a gap this long – almost 2 complete months – but it has just transpired this way. We’ve been trying to do this for several weeks but one thing or another kept us away.

First, I just couldn’t do it. I was too sore from one surgery or another or still felt light headed and weak. Then, the barrage of appointments and procedures over the past 10-15 days just left no time for making my way anywhere else.

And – honestly – when I got up on Monday morning, I really wasn’t sure it was going to work.

My first chemo treatment last Thursday left me fatigued, headachy and a little unsure of myself. Not light-headed – but not too willing to climb a ladder either.

But I’m stubborn – no great surprise there.

I thought that if I kept letting excuses keep me away, I was never going to get back into exercise. And since exercise is supposed to be good for you during chemo, I had to do it.

During the drive uptown, I was still unsure of how this was going to unfold. Still not tooconfident of myself.

When we arrive, everyone was happy to see us and ran over for hugs.

I got into my workout clothes and headed for my first attempt at exercise. I was just going to do some light cardio. Not much else I should be doing on my own.

1stWorkout

So the stationary bicycle was my choice.

I set the program pretty low and just went with it. It felt really good. The empty pit feeling that I had had in my stomach disappeared and my head seemed to clear up.

I did 10 minutes and stopped. It’s not just that I haven’t worked out for 2 months. I’ve gone through some pretty major stuff. 2 major surgeries, and major treatments and procedures. But I didn’t want to stop because it felt good.

I moved on to the tread mill and set it at zero incline at a pace that I would have considered insulting 2 months ago. I did 12 more minutes and felt just as good.

Now common sense kicked in and I stopped. I’d been warned against overworking myself by my plastic surgeon and he runs the exercise rules.  I threw in the towel for the day – but scheduled with our (awesome and amazing) trainer to start with a session on Wednesday. He’s been planning a workout to accommodate my restrictions and remaining “tender” areas.

I read lots about how physically and psychologically debilitating breast cancer is.

Well – it is if you let it be. I’m not standing for that. I’m through the worst surgeries and I won’t let treatment that is setting me up for a better life ahead be a negative thing.

What I’m doing is a good thing. It may just be hard on me some days.

So one of the best things I can do for myself during this treatment is NOT to sit with my pillow behind my back on the sofa and wonder when I’m going to feel better. But to do the things that research has showed improves life for those undergoing treatment.

I will be exercising – no excuses!

I will be eating a high protein, vegetable, fruit diet – leaving off the rich and fried foods .

I will be drinking at least 70 ounces of water a day.

Yesterday was the first day or the rest of my life and it’s going to be good.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “Back in the Groove

  1. You are amazing!! Keep up the good work and thoughts.

    Like

  2. Inspiring and all are so thankful and proud of you . Your positive determined attitude is great ! Bless you and may praying you will continue to feel good through the treatments. Best Wishes daily and prayers Carol andBob

    Like

Leave a Reply

