wide-eyed at 4am

Cancer Beatdown Cup & Thoughtful Friends

Leave a comment

It’s been about 2½ months since most folks learned of my journey. And I must say that I’m blessed with friends, co-workers and family who are amazing in their consistency.
Sometimes I think it’s sort of easy when there is an illness or surgery among your friends that has a short duration (well – short when compared to cancer surgery and treatment.) It’s much more difficult to stay the course. To check in on someone. To give periodic support and send little messages of encouragement. Sometimes folks just get back to their own lives and don’t realize that this journey is different. Those traveling it need those continuous instances of support and love. It’s what provides strength and hope – and reminds you that you’re not doing this alone.

Like I said, I’m fortunate. I have a support system of very persistent people. They’ve not wavered in their expressions of love and support and they (you) just don’t know how much I appreciate it.

BLOG_CancerBeatdownCup

Just the other day, I got a package in the mail: a beautifully designed coffee mug and book. My friend and co-worker, Tracey, gave me a pick-me-up. It’s not the first time she’s lifted my spirits, but one of many along the journey. I needed it. I’m thinking lots about what is happening in the next week or so. I should start to lose my hair. In fact, every day, I pull my fingers through it to see if I get defectors. It hasn’t started falling out yet but it does seem to have a different texture. So chemo #2 is this Thursday. I get my head buzzed on Friday. We made the decision a while back to go short-short ahead of the fall out. So it’s a big week. The instance of support was well-timed.

And actually, I’m not the only one who appreciates it. Dennis needs it too.  He’s on the same journey. He just didn’t have the surgery and doesn’t have the treatments. But he’s been at every appointment, procedure etc., etc., and has to do something that I don’t. He has to wait for each and every thing to be over with. At least – for me – the time doing the activity or having it done to me goes by rather quickly without time for my mind to wander and create new scenarios of outcomes. He has plenty of time for that. And I’m sorry he has to go through it but happy and thankful that he loves me enough to do it.

So “ditto” to the rest of you in my support system. Thank you for traveling the journey and helping me to know that I’m make it through.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

