wide-eyed at 4am

9/11 – Let the Healing (and Remembering) Continue

Leave a comment

9/11. That means so much more to us than it did before that day in 2001.

We’ve learned some things:

  • That we can overcome unimaginable tragedy
  • That we can pull together as Americans and accomplish something
  • That we are a country that holds are values high.

It also taught us, rather painfully, that we can move on.

Somehow I parallel this to my journey with breast cancer. That day – diagnosis day May 15th will be burned in my brain forever. BUT that wasn’t the end of the story. I’ve set my jaw and won’t back down from it. It will not defeat me. In fact, it’s going to get the royal beatdown.

So with the help of my God and my friends, I fight it. That kind of army works no matter what evil you’re fighting. Let’s all continue to heal.

Remember 9/11 through some quotes.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

