wide-eyed at 4am

The Buzzdown

2 Comments

We’ve been talking about this day for quite a while and making plans for it to be special and fun.

We had changed the date once because I started my chemo plan a week earlier than we had first thought. But, of course, Eddie was great about adjusting and setting aside some time for me.

Julie and Sara Beth were coming. Sara Beth would have her camera for documenting the process as would Dennis. It was sure to be quite the event. I was wondering just how he buzzdown would happen – what styles would there be, what would we do?

If I had thought about it at all, I would have realized that Eddie would have it planned down to the minute and I would need to do nothing beside enjoy myself.

I will admit that I didn’t feel as good as I had wanted to feel. My stomach wasn’t cooperating. Maybe part of it was the buzz itself. I didn’t like how my hair was falling out but I also wasn’t real sure about the whole bald thing either.

It was going to happen one way or the other. I wanted the buzzdown because I wanted to be in control of when my hair was gone. I’ve had little control over anything else in this process. I was going to maintain control over this.

We began with a champagne toast. They had the champagne. I didn’t have the stomach for it.

_D710263 _D710265 _D710267 _D710270

Eddie is just amazing. He had 8 hair styles that he managed to showcase in 45 minutes. As he finished each hairdo he removed the cutting cape and turned me around to pose for a picture.

We were there to have fun with this so I hammed it up for each one!

A couple were really cute and I would consider for a holiday party or something… (you can probably guess which one I’m referring to)

_D710271 _D710273 _D710272_D710276

More….

DSC_0043_D710284 _D710286 _D710287 _D710288

And more…

_D710294_D710296

And even more…

_D710298 _D710299

_D710298 _D710300

And, yes, more…

DSC_0047 DSC_0051

_D710302

By the time the real buzz was on, Sara Beth was chomping at the bit to make her own mark on my head. Eddie handed the clippers over to her and she buzzed half of the back. At that point Julie wasn’t going to let her get the best of it and she joined in to buzz the other side.

_D710305 _D710312_D710314_D710313

I loved it that they got into it that much.

After finishing the buzz, Eddie enhanced by eyebrows and eye shadow t compensate for the lack of hair.

_D710318 _D710321 _D710329 _D710334_D710335_D710330

We took several group photos and laughed at how “pretty” my head is!

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “The Buzzdown

  1. Jill – you are amazing! You inspire me with your positive approach to kicking cancer’s butt!!! And btw…you look gorgeous!!!!!!

    Like

  2. You can always do the Shelby “Brown Paper Bag Style”! I hope you remember–it was a hoot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

