wide-eyed at 4am

Chemo #2

Leave a comment

Thursday was my second chemo infusion.

Went same as first – only the drama queen we met at chemo #1 was much less active. She had no audience to perform for. Our time there was much quieter – no disruptions from her highness.

The thing that was different was the time that it took for the infusion. The 2.5 hours we spent for the #1 expanded into about 4. More people with fewer nurses so more waiting between phases of the process.

My immune system booster shot was scheduled and we were gone.

This post-Friday was a little different than the first one. I started feeling effects right away. By Friday afternoon, I was already into the sort of queasy, tired feeling. But was determined stay poised for the buzzdown coming up at 2pm with Eddie. And Saturday, I was determined to get to Greenville to see my parents. They really wanted to see me and we just had to make that happen – even if I slept the entire way back.

I made it through Friday and Saturday morning actually felt better. We headed to Greenville, but I noticed that I was tiring pretty quickly. It wouldn’t be a long visit. But at least we made it and they got to see me. There is something to the fact that they actually could lay their eyes on me and see that I was OK.

Sunday – yuck. Just tired and queasy. No appetite. Nothing sounds appetizing. I know I need to eat to keep my body healing but I can’t pinpoint anything that sounds good.

By Sunday night, I had decided I was going to feed it and see if it got better. I made sautéed chicken and roasted vegetables. Tired afterward and just laid around after that  – able to shake it.

Monday morning. Same feeling. Not as queasy but still the light-headed- ish just not right feeling. No workout. Besides that I had work to do.

I spent the day working through it. It was better than Sunday – when I really couldn’t concentrate on the screen.  I ate a good lunch and felt better by the time the afternoon came to an end.

We ordered dinner out. Pasta actually was pretty good for my stomach.

Maybe I just need food! I’ve not been eating very much over the couple of queasy days.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

