wide-eyed at 4am

30 Years

1 Comment

It was about mid-August when I realized that I would be in the midst of chemo on our 30th wedding anniversary. What a way to celebrate.

At the first of the year, we had talked about doing something special this year. I would exactly call the breast cancer journey special and it sure isn’t what I would have ever thought we would be doing at this particular time.

I have an amazing husband. He hasn’t blinked during this whole process. Not once. He’s with me at every appointment and for each treatment so far. I’m sure he won’t waiver on that. He will be there the entire way. No matter how crappy I look or feel or act. He’s there. I’m lucky. I’m blessed. I’m glad.

And I’m sorry and I’ve said so. But it’s worthless to apologize for something I have no control over.

I hope that we’ve reached the end of this journey this time next year and we can really have a celebration of 31 years and the beatdown of breast cancer.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “30 Years

  1. Here’s to the next 30!

    Like

Leave a Reply

