wide-eyed at 4am

Getting Back to Me

Leave a comment

If you’ve read much on my blog you know that I believe normalcy is important and I’m focusing on getting back to “me” after every event.

Lymphedema Therapy is going to be a big step in that.

I’ve been to two therapy sessions now and met both of the therapists that I will be working with. They are both excellent. I understand why my oncology surgeon prefers this program.

My session begins with hand massage and progresses to laser massage (which is THE BOMB).

After “loosening me up,” the therapist begins working on flexibility. The specific muscles that are tight are worked pretty hard. This is in the “uncomfortable to hurt” range on the painful meter but is what it is going to take to “get back to me.”

Next we move to the pulleys. This simply allows my right arm to assist my left arm in reaching up or out or forward to push my flexibility and get my range of motion back to where it was. The comparison is also good. When my right arm mirrors what my left arm does, I can see “where” my left arm should be.

I’m amazed at how quickly I’ve progressed – just in two sessions.

I see what areas of motion need work and have exercises (both from the therapist and plastic surgeon)  to do multiple times a day that will help do that.

My Lymphedema sleeve is ordered. This is specifically to wear if I fly, but my therapists expand that to also include wearing it when I exercise (or do anything that requires a lot of muscle use in my left arm). It is  designed to “encourage” movement of fluids from my wrist up so that the system that was damaged during surgery has help in ridding my arm of its unneeded fluids.

I have a session BRIGHT AND EARLY on Monday morning. Not looking to being at Carolinas Rehab at CMC Main at 7am. But you gotta do what you gotta do, right?

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

