wide-eyed at 4am

Bald is Beautiful?

1 Comment

This may not be exactly true, but bald does give you a new perspective on “looks” and self-esteem and courage.

What I see in the mirror each morning is still a bit of a surprise, but the week since my buzzdown has illustrated some interesting and very important things to me.

  1. Most people don’t gawk.
  2. When you have the chemo bald going on you notice how many other women are sporting the same look. It’s an epidemic.
  3. My eyes and smile take center stage now. They really aren’t so bad when I play them up.
  4. There is no need to be embarrassed about the baldness. It’s a badge of courage.

It’s not that I won’t wear my wigs. I will wear them. I love them and thing they are incredibly cute. But my reason for wearing them is to minimize the distraction of a bald woman in the room. There are sometimes when it’s good for you and best for the situation to blend in.

I just wore my one hat (I have more hats coming!) to visit my plastic surgeon yesterday. After all, how many bald heads has this poor guy seen. But he said some things that gave my self-confidence a boost. He didn’t gush with “you look great.” He looked straight in my eyes and told me that I look fine. That I should wear it proudly.

It was a very honest statement made.

The last week has showed me that my hair or my looks are not me. And that my ability to hold my head high and move on with my life with my bald head is courageous and something that I can take pride in.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “Bald is Beautiful?

  1. Jill, You are BEAUTIFUL! You write beautifully too. I love that you are “holding your head up high” and taking “pride in your courageousness.” What a shining example of dealing with adversity you are!
    Love to you,
    Ora

    Like

Leave a Reply

