wide-eyed at 4am

Moving Right Along

2 Comments

My appointment with my oncologist was terrific on Tuesday! I was very excited upon leaving LCI Pineville.

I learned some very encouraging things. I have only 2 more of the “bad” treatments. This Thursday and then Thursday, October 8. Everyone at my oncologist’s office is thrilled with the way that I’m handling the treatments. My side effects have really been pretty minimal. I’ve lost my hair but I’m still looking and acting energetic and positive.  My vitals are great. I didn’t hear from them this afternoon, so my blood count must be fine too. Ready to face #3.

The really great news is that I have permission to try to schedule my Thanksgiving week treatment one day early. That way we could drive to Tampa for Thanksgiving. Both girls will be at home (which is unusual) and they want us to join them this year.

By moving this up one day(instead of skipping the week as I could also choose to do,) I wouldn’t have to extend treatments to or past Christmas.

I’ve also learned that my immune system booster shots will end with the October 8 treatment.  OMG! Hurray!BLOG_MeReadytoGo_09232015

My oncologist notes that side effects with the second drug are minimal and I should be fine to travel. My immune system should be stronger so I can relax with the kids and food.  I almost feel released!

The end of the “bad” ones is only 2 weeks and 2 days away.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

2 thoughts on “Moving Right Along

  1. Great news Jill! Thankful you have stayed positive for that is so important! Keeping the prayers coming for your continued healing and do hope you can join your family over Thanksgiving to celebrate together. Take Care! You look great !

    Like

  2. Way to go Jill! So happy you’re progressing so well. You are always in our thoughts and prayers. Have a Sunshine Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

