wide-eyed at 4am

Prayers for Maxine

Leave a comment

Just after my second chemo treatment, we were in Chick Fil-A. That is one place that I can go to get hormone-free chicken in quick mode.

I was sporting one of my fedoras, but of course, anyone could see the back of my chemo-balded head. The bandage over my port wasn’t totally covered by my shirt, so it was also obvious that I had just had some type of procedure.

As we finished up, cleared our trays and got refills before exiting the restaurant, one of the employees came over to me and asked if she could speak to me for a moment. I wasn’t really sure what this was about, but followed the young lady over to a more private area in the restaurant. What she told me really touched my heart. She started off by telling me that from her own experience with her grandmother, she could tell what I was going through and that she admired my strength in being out and being bubbly and energetic in the midst of it. She told me that she would pray for me.

She told me that her grandmother had breast cancer and that it had moved to two other areas and she was now in her third battle with the disease as it was attacking her liver. She said she’s never given up hope and continues to fight. I asked for her grandmother’s name so that I could specifically include her in my prayers and I thanked her for sharing her story with me.

I’ve never seen this person before. She had such a sweet smile. She did something that most of us wouldn’t have – she approached a stranger and bared her soul. In the process she gave me a blessing.

Maxine now on my prayer list. Please add this warrior to yours.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

