wide-eyed at 4am

The Supportive Group Around Me

Leave a comment

Fortunately, our choir’s latest lobster party was one a weekend that coincided with on of my “good” weekends – not an after chemo weekend. I’ve not baked a cake since June. I didn’t really need to worry. All skills are still intact. Note the Chocolate Espresso Cake….

BLOG_ChocEsp_092015

We’ve also become quite enamored with the VeggiePro we recently purchased. It’s a small manual slicer that allows you to quickly and easily make things like zoodles (zucchini noodles) and carrot ribbons.  Dennis showed off his skills in making our special Italian zoodle salad to contribute to the lobster party buffet bevy.

We had a great time. I didn’t really even get tired until about 10 – even though I had been quite busy all day with working out, doing a little service project shopping and baking.

Jill+GratiaDSC_0094DSC_0111 DSC_0109

I’ve not been able to spend very much time outside of Sunday services and Thursday rehearsal – when I’ve felt good enough to be there – so this evening was good for catching up with so many who are providing amazing support along this journey.

DSC_0141DSC_0096

This party was also an opportunity to debut my black sequined, light-up fedora. And I must say that it was quite popular. No one was surprised since I’m always doing something a little crazy.

DSC_0081DSC_0106

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

