wide-eyed at 4am

Chemo #4 – The Last “Difficult” One

Leave a comment

Thank goodness it’s over. My progression through the bad ones, that is.

I’m only 25% of the way through my complete chemo treatment but my oncologist says the other 12 – the Taxol infusions – are quite a bit less debilitating than the first 4.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll find out for sure but I’m strangely looking forward to getting to that point – the point when I find out exactly how I’m going to respond to this series.

BLOG_JulieWork_10142015

BLOG_Me+Julie_10142015Chemo #4 was a little different. My chair was in a private room (that I didn’t realize they had.) That worked out really well because Julie came and we could relax and not worry that our conversation bother anyone. After all, some people who are there feel really bad. I’m lucky that I’ve not felt bad on my infusion days. We had a good meeting. We don’t meet – just the two of us – very often. So we got to girl talk a little and share some ideas that we have for Jackrabbit marketing. It was great that she was there to help me through this last difficult one.

BLOG_Post-Chemo_Workout_10142015The 4th chemo infusion wasn’t very kind to me. I actually ended up sleeping through the evening on Thursday and then through the night (thanks to the sleepy version nausea meds). I tried something different this time. On Friday morning, I managed to get to the Athletic Club for a light work out. I thought that it might help (since exercise is supposed to be one of the best things that you can do as you progress through chemo). I made it through – and actually ended up having lunch and running some errands before showing up for my Neulasta shot at 2:45 that afternoon. When we made it home, I almost fell onto the sofa. Sleep wasn’t far behind.

The “other” side effects (headache, bone aches, diarrhea, nausea, light-headedness, sensitivity to light and noise and a hypersensitive sense of smell) were necessarily worse but they lasted longer. I was incredibly fatigued from Friday afternoon until Monday morning. Lightheadedness and nausea continued through Tuesday. I was pretty miserable but at least I could work on Monday and Tuesday.

By this time in the process, I’ve learned a few things that should be done prior to getting my Thursday infusion. I’ve learned to get some food in the house so that being a hermit for a few days isn’t terribly difficult. I do all the laundry that needs to be done so it doesn’t pile up higher than my head in the bathroom. I at least vacuum the floors and dust a little so that (as I’m lying around) I don’t become disgusted the pigsty in my midst. Dennis makes sure our supply of water and ginger ale is adequate and that there are crackers, English muffins, cheese and peanut butter (some of the things I usually feel like forcing down on the bad days).

According to all who are advising me, I’m through the “worst.” That’s quite a milestone for me. I haven’t celebrated yet because I want to make sure it’s true. And I’ll find that out on Oct 22. I hope that I will feel like celebrating a little that weekend – that I can plow right through my 12 week series!

Side Note: The hat collecting continues. The lace ball cap isn’t the only new one. I love my new sweatery style blue and camel one. I also have a new fancy black one with a silver band that I’m sure will be pictured soon. The solid navy one still evades me.BLOG_LaceCap_10142015BLOG_BlueHat_10142015

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

