wide-eyed at 4am

The Unkown That’s Ahead

Leave a comment

This is a big week. It’s a transition week. I move to the second phase of chemo infusions. My first phase was deemed as the most difficult of all that I’ll have to endure by my oncologist and I hope she’s accurate. (She has been pretty spot-on so far.)

Thursday I start with a different chemo drug. It is “supposed” to have fewer and less debilitating side effects than the previous cocktail.

I only have 4 of the 16 treatments I’m slated for under my belt. That leaves 12 treatments that will invoke a response from my body that is unknown to me at this point. If my response turns out to be not-so-good, then I’m going to have a pretty not-so-good fall and early winter. But let’s focus on the positive! That I’m going to continue to handle these treatments better than anyone is expecting and cruise right through my 12 remaining weeks! And at the end of this dozen (in early January) I will be ready for a recovery break and then happy to move on to the next steps…with chemo behind me.

It’s that unknown thing that bothers me. The unknown in all sorts of forms keeps raising it’s head whenever it can. That is what prayer helps me prepare for, my faith helps me face and my support system helps me stare down.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

