wide-eyed at 4am

Sometimes It’s the Simple Things

Leave a comment

Saturday’s trip to Greenville included a stop in uptown to cruise Main Street’s shops and take pictures at Falls Park and the Liberty Bridge. 

It was a beautiful day!

Dennis & I picked up a few things at the Mast General Store and at The Southern Fried Company, had a light lunch at Rainer’s and went across the street to Spill the Beans to wait for Doug.

Several years ago I was heartbroken when I learned that my good friend had throat cancer. He battled it, beating it into remission. We all thought (hoped) that was the end of it.

We talked not long after that and began keeping up with each other’s progress.

He was giving me great encouragement because he’d been through chemo and radiation once already. If he told me I had this, then I did. He would know.

So his Round 2 consisted of an 8 week stay in Charleston to have a chemo-radiation tandem that I wouldn’t have wanted to face.

He is finished with his treatment waiting to get a scan to make sure the beatdown is complete.

He met us for ice cream and we talked and talked.

“Does your nose run and your eyes water?” “How long is your infusion?” “How much weight have you lost?” “Are you light-headed?”

There were so many things – little things – that are identical about our chemo side effects. There were so many things that we didn’t have to say because we knew that we’d both faced some of the toughest questions you’ve ever had to ask yourself about mortality, fear, faith and strength.

We spent more than 1 1/2 hours talking about everything. And when we separated to find our cars, we expressed how awesome our conversation had been.

It wasn’t anything that took much forethought. The place wasn’t fancy. The words came easily. And maybe the simplicity of it was what was so good about it.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

