wide-eyed at 4am

And It Continues…

1 Comment

I’m well into my week after my second Taxol infusion and I’ve learned lots.

For one thing, it helps for me to have a reasonable amount of food in my stomach when I have these “second series” infusions. Fights off the sleepiness caused by the Benedryl drip that I get.

For another, it is not a good idea to eat ice cream after the infusion – regardless of how good it sounds. (more on this later)

BLOG_Chemo6_Taxol2_11032015And another, it pays to get my rest. Going as hard as I can – just because I feel good – at the time doesn’t allow for the fact that my body has poison coursing through it. And resting – even if I feel pretty good – will help in the long run.

So why did I learn these lessons?

My first Taxol weekend, I felt few side effects and went 110 mph. On Sunday I was tired and felt as if I had a cold. Miserable day. By Monday afternoon, I was almost free from it. At least it was quick.

My second Taxol day, I ate soup and sandwich 45 minutes before infusion time. Much more than I had eaten at the time of my first Taxol day. I didn’t get sleepy or loopy at all during the infusion. And felt pretty fine after leaving LCI Pineville.

As we headed home, I remembered that I had been sort of craving ice cream for a few days and never gotten any. It wasn’t lunch time nor dinner time but I had a little steroid-driven hunger so what the heck. Go for it, right? Well, hindsight is 20-20. After finishing my waffle dish of double chocolate and coffee with shaved chocolate, I remember the “avoid sweets and fried foods” part of my American Cancer Society book on managing food during treatment. Too late now but – really – what harm?

At about 1 am, I learned. (at least that is what I thought.) From them until about 5am I  – ummm – shall we say “admired the porcelain statue.” I lost (in both directions) than I thought my body was capable of holding. And all of that water I’ve been drinking? It was eliminated too – in a pretty constant stream. And the bonus? I pulled a muscle in my right side in the antics of Thursday night.

Needless to say, my Friday was miserable as well. I slept. Luckily the worst of the “bout” was over. But I didn’t feel like eating anything. The sound of everything made me gag. Saturday was slightly better, but I was worn out.

Sunday, I was better, but that day brought education too. Dennis was now down with nausea and the rest. So the light went on. It was a virus! The ice cream really didn’t make me sick.

So here I am looking at Wednesday. I do my labs tomorrow for Thursday’s infusion.

On Thursday, there are some things that will be for certain:

  • Eat reasonably before the infusion.
  • Do not eat ice cream afterward (even though it’s pretty definite that it didn’t cause my illness, it didn’t make me feel good either. After Thursday night’s experience, I may never want it again.)
  • Rest after infusion and during the weekend that follows and avoid germs.

Last look at ice cream??

BLOG_IceCream_11032015

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

One thought on “And It Continues…

  1. I am so sorry you had such a time (ice cream!) So thankful you are feeling better now. Just know many prayers are coming your way. Hang in there and keep thinking about how far you have come in your treatments and that the what is ahead is getting less each day . Sincerely, Carol and Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

