wide-eyed at 4am

We Really are Good People

Leave a comment

My breast cancer journey is revealing something to me that is very heart-warming: there is goodness in people.

I’ve not been shy about my diagnosis, writing about it, sharing pictures, intimate struggles and awkward and sometimes hilarious moments. I don’t try to hide my circumstances when in public yet I don’t seek out pity or special treatment because of it either.

This journey has bestowed me with several special gifts:

  • A young Chick Fil-A employee who spontaneously came up to me and told me about her grandmother who had given breast cancer the beat down twice.
  • Strangers who pass by me in restaurants and gently touch my shoulder and say “I’m praying for you.”
  • Childhood friends who reach out to support me with visits, cards and prayers.
  • Good friends who send me special gifts – just to brighten my day.
  • Encouragement from friends who share their own battles with cancer with me.
  • Gifts from infusion room “buddies” who are leaving the rest of us behind as they complete their final treatment.
  • Support from good friends that come in texts, meals, flowers, offers to transport and sit with me for treatments and procedures.
  • Co-workers who automatically take up the slack because they know that my treatment schedule is a full time job in itself.
  • Simple hugs – no words required.

I continue to see good in everyone. Sometimes it takes crisis and catastrophe to bring it out – but it is there. You know, many think that mankind is going to hell in a hand basket, but I think I’m experiencing the truth – that it’s not.

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

