wide-eyed at 4am

Halfway Day

Leave a comment

Finally! After getting postponed for a few days, I’ve reached my halfway point.

8 Down/8 To Go

I’m thrilled to be at this point and to know that – as I move forward – I will have done more than I have left.

I can’t adequately describe the feeling of being in the midst of this. I know some in the “sisterhood” who know this feeling – exactly. Some of us have discussed it…which is great because I know that what I’m feeling or experiencing – ┬áisn’t unusual or weird.

The Last Nerve

I was highly irritated (putting it nicely) when my oncologist’s nurse called to deliver the news of the delay last Wednesday. Disappointed doesn’t do it. Angry doesn’t either.

Chemo isn’t something anyone wants to go through. But you know you have to so that you have the best chance of giving cancer its ultimate beat down and never having cancer again. You do want to do it in the sense that you want to get it over with as quickly as possible. The fact that my infusion for last Thursday was delayed until today puts me behind so I will finish later than originally thought. I talked about this a lot in my Attitude Adjustment post.

It experienced a 180 in emotions today when the same nurse called to tell me that my blood work was good enough to allow me to do my infusion. I was elated and ready to go then – I didn’t even want to wait until 2:15.

When the postponement came, I felt as though I was at a standstill. And my patience was wearing thin. Today I was released from that. …at least for this week.

Monday Anxiety

I know that I will have a case of the nerves on Monday for my blood work…..being hopeful and anxious that my liver numbers will not show an increase again. I’ve never prayed for a calm liver before.

Today is an awesome day of moving ahead. And having it be the day I reach my half way point makes it even better!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

