wide-eyed at 4am

Just Sayin’

Leave a comment

Friday was a busy day with medical stuff.

Lymphedema therapy early morning and plastic surgeon follow-up mid morning.We had quite the waiting room experience and it made me wonder what in the world some folks are thinking.

It wasn’t the waiting room at the rehab center but that of the plastic surgery office that provided the experience.

Let me describe it. I’m not going to draw any conclusions. I’ll leave that for you since ours may differ. You may not be as critical as I’ve apparently become as I’ve spent so much time in areas like waiting rooms with many members of our general population.

We entered to waiting room at 10:30 am to await my 10:45 appointment. We (Dennis was with me) knew immediately that we were in for some good people watching because the waiting room was full. Not just crowded – full. There were probably 25 people waiting – and most were not doing so quietly.

I’ve written about my opinions on people who are inconsiderate of others in waiting rooms in a previous post, so you know that people who are incredibly self-unaware and inconsiderate drive me crazy.

The waiting room was so crowded that we actually had to take seats in the hallway connecting the waiting room to the examination suites and surgeons’ offices. That was probably a good thing. It actually may have saved lives.

The main waiting room was utter chaos. Many with appointments had chosen to bring their entire families with them. And this included a couple of babies, a couple of toddlers and a young girl that was about 9 or 10 years old.

Those who appeared to be patients ranged in age from their late 20s to their 80s.

Maybe it was the barometric pressure or the moon, maybe it was the fact that appointments were running about 45 minutes behind – but it must have been something because everyone was loud: babies crying and children and adults whining.

All who were late for something else were on the phone loudly describing their situations. Perhaps all were desperate for ways to entertain themselves and this had resorted to some behaviors that I deem inappropriate for a waiting room.

I’ve already mentioned the loud cell phone conversations. There were several going on at the same time and apparently one older women in particular was having trouble with her connection or the operation of her phone or her hearing or something. I’m not quite sure (because of all of the other noise) but she was definitely having difficulty with things.

It was obvious that several folks were suffering from some form or remnants of the flu by the coughing, hacking and sneezing. This added considerably to the noise factor.

The crying babies were irritating but not at level of the 9-10 year old girl. She was the day’s winner for irritating and ridiculous behavior and her parents came in a close second.

First of all, she wanted attention and was determined to get it from everyone. She positioned herself face down in the middle of the waiting room floor and began to kick her legs in the air and babbled loudly. Soon her father joined in and began to tease her. This got her up from the floor to go over to him for more attention – at which time he began to do fake wrestling holds on her – saying that if she didn’t stop he was going to choke her – and laughing. Well of course she didn’t stop – in fact she squealed loudly every time he touched her.

You would think that his adult “sense” would kick in and he would stop doing this since the child was continuously squealing and that he would let her know she needed to just sit quietly and wait. Didn’t happen.

Back to the middle of the floor she went. Her father continued to egg her on so the girl’s squealing (and the father’s threats and laughter) continued.

The babies eventually settled down (or their parents were called in for their appointments) and the cell phone conversations dwindled, but the father-daughter show lasted for the entire hour that I waited for my appointment.

There are a few disturbing things about this.

  • A 9-10 year old is old enough to know better than to wallow around on the floor.
  • A parent knows better than to let said child behave this way, to egg her on and to set such a horrible example with his own bad behavior.
  • The floor of a doctors’ office is NOT the best place to stick your face. Who knows how many different flu strains were living happily there. Another point that you would think parents would point out to this child.
  • I felt that these folks were missing a few pretty basic human traits (which is sad for a representative group of our general population.) Could they all be totally without manners, couth, consideration, shame.

I promised that I’d let you draw your own conclusions, so I will stop here and leave you with our experience to ponder. But I’m just sayin’…

Author: jillpurdy

A few months ago I wasn't but now I'm a statistic. That doesn't define me. I'm a daughter, a sister, a wife, a step mom, a grandmother, a friend and a Christian. I will continue to love exercise, music, cooking and food, and my family and friends. I'm stubborn, energetic, giving and too OCD for my own good sometimes. And I'm going to stay this way - despite cancer and the treatments that it takes to give it the royal beatdown.

Leave a Reply

